Play

March 31, 2015

There was an Amber Alert at 5:30 Saturday morning.  This means that my phone received an alert and woke me up.  Anna woke up shortly thereafter.  Since I knew I wouldn’t be falling back asleep after the alert woke me up, I turned on Michigan Radio to listen to The TED Radio Hour.  The theme of the program was “play”.  I thought it was kind of fitting for the two of us to listen to it together.

Anna is starting to play.  Her accidental movements are becoming more deliberate.  And it is delightful to watch.  She smiles and giggles and coos.  This is part of why I wanted to be a parent.  I’m enjoying watching her discover the world.  And I know that aspect of motherhood is just going to keep getting better.

P.S. I hate to jinx it, but she’s been an awesome sleeper.  Regularly, she goes down between 8 and 9 and doesn’t wake up until 1 or 2 and then again around 5 or 6.  I know this may not last, but I’m enjoying the sleep while I can get it.  I’m not very good at sleeping when the baby sleeps.  I don’t fall asleep easily enough for that.  I get an afternoon nap when my mom comes to watch Anna, but I don’t nap when it’s just the two of us.  The way the nights have gone, I’m getting at least as much sleep as I did when I was pregnant.  But I will miss my siestas when I go back to work!

Leave a comment