Heart Ache

I had every intention of writing a blog post yesterday.  Even yesterday I thought that I would write a post yesterday and then write a post today about why I’d thought about not writing a post yesterday.  I even remembered to take a few notes about things I wanted to mention in my now-traditional Friday-What’s-Making-Me-Happy-This-Week post.  But the news from Thursday was still casting a pallor over the day.  And after Anna had her bath, I watched Jon Stewart’s final episode and went to bed.

The KAMSC Class of ’96 has been doing pretty well.  Lots of new babies and happy news since Sofia and Sebastian died.  But one of my classmates shared her sad news with us on Thursday.  Her 6-week-old has been diagnosed with spinal muscular atrophy.  She’s been mostly incommunicado.  But I know that she has my contact information.  I messaged her to make sure she had my cell number, and she wrote back.

Since Sofia died, I’ve said that while I’m, well, not happy but I don’t know what other word to use, so that’s what we’ll call it.  I’m happy to support someone the way others have supported me, but I’ve hoped I’ve never needed to.  But here we are.  And she knows I’m here.  And she can direct people to some of my posts and some of the articles I’ve linked to if she doesn’t want to explain how she’s feeling.

Lisa and I texted each other for a while Thursday evening, needing the comfort and connection to share our sorrow.

So yesterday was a melancholy day.  And while I already can talk about this news without crying (unlike when I called my mom just after reading the post), my heart still aches for my friend and her family.

I’ll end with my friend’s words:  “Please hug your little ones and hold your family tight.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

