Home Sick

Where do I begin?  I can’t even remember the last time I wrote a blog post.  Life has been keeping me busy.  Take Anna to daycare.  Go to work.  Pick Anna up from daycare.  Go home.  Have dinner.  Play.  Snuggle.  Go to bed.  Repeat the next day.  Laundry on the weekend.  Grocery shopping after work.  And suddenly it was Thanksgiving.

And then I got sick.  Really sick.  I couldn’t sit up for long without throwing up.  I even had to put Anna down in the middle of a bedtime bottle so that I could go throw up.  And it didn’t get better.  I was miserable on Saturday.  And Sunday.  And when I threw up after giving Anna her bottle Monday morning, I knew I needed to see the doctor.

No clue exactly what it was.  It was probably something viral.  I got an IV drip of fluids and vitamins  and started to feel better Tuesday morning.  Anna spent Monday and tuesday nights at my parents’ house.

If you’re thinking about being a single choice mom, look around you.  How is your support system?  Who will help you out when you’re too sick to take care of your kid?  I don’t know how I would have survived without my parents (especially my mom).  I know that I have plenty of friends would have brought me soup and tea.  And they would have helped out with Anna.  Make sure you have someone you’re comfortable with watching your baby overnight.  You just might need them.

Oh, there’s this, too.

  
She’s still not sure about this FaceTime thing, although it does mean she can play with the iPad.  But at least I got to see her!

I’m much better now.  I’ll pick Anna up from daycare today.  And tomorrow I’ll go back to work.  I definitely needed the rest and the respite, but I miss my little girl!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

