Unexpected Triggers

Warning!  Spoilers ahead.  Seriously.  If you haven’t seen the latest Star Wars, and you don’t want to know what happens, you should stop reading now.  Save this post for later, after you’ve seen it.

Work closed at noon today.  But daycare was open all day.  (Or is open, I should say.  Anna is there; I’m at home.  Yes, I took a nap.)  I really wanted to see the Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  I really wasn’t sure how to work it into my schedule until I remembered that I had childcare already paid for today.  But since I really did want to take a nap, and I knew the movie is long…  Yep, I took the morning off, and my parents and I went to see it.

My dad started crying at the opening sequence.  You know, the standard Star Wars crawl.  Afterwards, he said that there was just something about it that made him think about Sofia.  He was as surprised as anyone.  (Honestly, I was almost crying before it started, but that was due to the trailer for the new Michael Moore film, which looks pretty powerful.)

That’s not to say that I didn’t cry, too.  Remember how I mentioned spoilers?  I’m about to spoil the movie.  Stop reading now if you don’t want to know about the climax.

I didn’t cry at the technical climactic moment.  Any fan of the original trilogy can see where it’s going.  Kylo Ren and Han Solo standing on the bridge.  A father and son.  It’s not going to be pretty.  But it was timed well enough, that even though I was sitting there thinking, “Han is going to die.  He’s going to die.  He’s going to die”, I still gasped when it finally happened.  (I warned you!)

No.  That’s not when I cried.  I cried when Rey and Finn and Chewie got back to the base.  When Rey and Leia looked at each other and said nothing.  Because, of course, there really was nothing to say.  Leia already knew Han was gone.  And then they hug each other.  And it’s hard to say who is comforting who.  Who is grieving more, the woman who lost the man she’s known for years or the one who only just met him?

But that, of course, is not the end.  This is merely the hero’s call*.  It’s just the beginning.  And I’m looking forward to what comes next.

*Why, yes, we did watch The Power of Myth as part of my mythology class in college.  Why do you ask?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

