Random on a Sunday

My brain is fried.  Or mush.  Perhaps fried mush.  I keep meaning to write, but then I either have writer’s block or else I can’t remember what I’d thought to write about or I can’t keep my eyes open long enough…  So we’ll see if I can at least remember some little things that I meant to say.

  1. I have a toddler wobbler.  Anna took her first steps last weekend and has now realized that she can, indeed, stand up in the middle of the room and walk to where she wants to go.
  2. My grandma would have been 100 this year.  Her birthday was a couple of weeks ago.  (Last week?  What day is it today?)  That means that my locket has been in the family for 100 years now.  It was special to me before but now?  Wow…
  3. My dad and I went to hear Neil DeGrasse Tyson speak.  So awesome.  And funny.  And brilliant.  And the first thing he did after coming on stage was to take his shoes off.  He gave the entire lecture in his socks.  Can’t help but wonder if he wanders around the Hayden Planetarium wearing socks and no shoes…
  4. I’ve learned how to knit German short rows.  Is it hyperbolic to call a new-to-me knitting technique life changing?  Honestly, I don’t think I’ll ever wrap and turn again.
  5. I re-read Johnny Tremain.  (Autocorrect really doesn’t believe I don’t mean to type “remain”…)  I know some people hate this book.  They hated having to read it for school, had horrible history teachers, etc.  I love it.  I’ve lost track of how many times I read it since Ms. Sue Lee first read it to my fifth grade class.  (Ms. Sue Lee, called by her full name so as not to be confused with fellow teacher Ms. Peg Lee.)  Ms. Lee was one of my favorite pre-college teachers.  Anyway, for fun I was reading the one-star reviews on Goodreads.  Someone gave this review: “Wah, I was born rich but raised poor.”  Um… I think that student should actually read the book…
  6. My admin retired on Friday.  I miss her already.  Courtney and I are going to do our best to muddle through for the next two months because, despite how much we are going to miss Melanie, we get to replace her part-time admin position with a full-time coordinator.  And, frankly, we really need another full-time coordinator in our department!  We just have to wait until the budget is officially approved before we can make the offer.

I feel like there was something more, but like I said, my brain is fried mush.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

