Exiled for the Good of the Realm Days 693-700, First Grade in the Time of COVID-19 Days 93-97

School celebrated “100 Days” this week. Snow days must count for them. I’m not counting snow days as I’m keeping track of the number of days of school. If school isn’t in session, then there is no school-related COVID-19 risk, so that must explain why I show they won’t hit 100 days until this coming week.

Anyway, they asked everyone to dress up like someone who is 100 years old. My first thought was a track suit because that’s what I picture old women wearing (not to be confused with the school’s suggestions of floral prints, skirts, and cardigans). But then I thought of my nonagenarian neighbor. My mom did, too, and also suggested Anna could dress like Walt. But I am not a history major for nothing and started thinking about how much cooler it would be to ask people to dress like they were from 100 years ago. And, frankly, it was a pretty easy sell once I pulled up some pictures of 1920s fashion. It was also irresistible given that my great-grandmother was really and truly an actual flapper. And Costco had spring dresses on sale, one of which was a great stand-in for a period dress (and which also means Anna has a dress for Easter hanging in her closet). I sent a note to her teacher that Anna was dressed like someone who is 100 today might have dressed when they were in the first grade.

There was significantly less shoveling this week, which is good because we really needed to have dance classes. The Choreography Showcase is next Saturday, and Anna’s class finally had a chance to learn their piece on Thursday. This means they will have had three rehearsals before they perform. It is a charming piece, and Anna is very excited. I quote:

“I will be dancing with my friends on Saturday, so you can come and see me do it at Tye Chua Dance.”

Anna Banner, age almost 7

Performances is are at 2:30 and 4:30. Admission is a most reasonable $5 (cash only). Originally, I was going to be in a modern piece, but between being in Denver one week and unable to bend over due to my post-flight vertigo for another week, there simply wasn’t time to add me to it. If you’re interested, you should have no trouble finding a seat at what you find to be a comfortable distance from strangers these days.

The rest of this week will be taken up with Valentine’s Day, the usual work and school, and probably more shoveling. I cleared my driveway once today. It looks like it will need it again tomorrow…

Hope you’re well and staying safe. If you’re in Kalamazoo County, you can order testing kits from the health department.

I ordered mine on Thursday, and they arrived today, much faster than the 1-2 weeks my confirmation said. Hopefully we won’t need them, but better to be prepared!

Stay safe. Wear your masks. Enjoy the snow. I love you all.

Leave a comment